True Love

Growing up, my parents were the kind that supported, encouraged, and loved me no matter what. With that came the suggestion that I could do anything I set my mind to and if I do what I love the rest will fall into place. Believe in ourselves, know ourselves, and it all works out – at least that’s the theory (and hope). When I finished my BA, I knew I wanted to be a writer and use my creativity in a visual way, but I was fearful. I love putting words together and designing shapes and colors to be something interesting, so what happens when I must do it in a certain way in a specific place for a set number of hours every day? Would my passion lose its allure or would it dampen the joy it brings to make it my ‘day job’? In the end, I chose to pursue work that would allow me to use my creative skills without relying solely on them for my livelihood so when I got done at the office I would still have interest in doing it for myself. After a day of answering emails, we all know how we dread looking at our personal emails right? Well, I had the same idea. It seemed to work and now I use my skills for consulting so my ‘day job’ is balanced with my ‘true love’ and, of course, actually having a life. I don’t know if my path was the right one, but since I am happy it must have been the right one for ME for that time in my life.

Here are a few interesting blog posts somewhat related to the fork in the road we all face when we wonder how to channel our true love and passion into a career:

Maybe you can’t make money doing what you love by Seth Godin

Do What You Love and the Money Will Follow by Robbie Vorhaus

Without Passion, You May Be A Successful Failure by Baldwin H. Tom

Quit Your Day Job, a series of profiles and posts from Etsy.com’s blog The Storque

Balancing Practicality with Passion by Christopher McCann

Linking Passion and Career: The Perils of Nonprofit Recruiting from Knowledge@Wharton

I *Heart* Snow 2

Leave a Reply

